Editorial Board


Marcus Jäger
Department of Orthopedics and Trauma Surgery
University of Duisburg-Essen, Essen, Germany

Prof. Marcus Jäger, Editor-In-Chief of Orthopedic Reviews since its launch in 2009, is the Director and Chair of the Department of Orthopaedics and Trauma Surgery at the Faculty of Medicine, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany. Beside his medical and surgical qualifications, he is also a postgraduate Biomedical Engineer focussing on biomaterial research and tissue regeneration. In the past, he investigated several innovative regenerative projects in vitro and introduced some of these into clinical application meanwhile (e. g. growths factors, autologous stem cells). Another focus of his research is the integration of implants on cartilage and bone. As an elected delegate of the German Research Foundation (DFG) and chairmen of the Directive Committee in biomaterials (The Association of German Engineers, VDI) Prof. Jäger overlooks recent scientific trends and developments in this field. Special qualifications have been raised on the treatment of critial tissue defects, osteonecrosis, total joint replacment and joint preserving surgery. In addition, Prof. Jäger is also experienced in computer-navigated orthopaedic surgery and motion analysis research. For his excellent performance in orthopaedic surgery and translational resarch Prof. Jäger was decorated by multiple awards such the AOA-ASG-Fellowship, the Harvard-Medical School Research Fellowship Progam, the Heine Price, the AFOR Awward. His cumulative impact factor is more than 300.

Associate Editors

Raffaele Vitiello, Fondazione Policlinico Universitario A. Gemelli IRCCS - Sacred Heart Catholic University, Rome, Italy
Antonio Ziranu, Fondazione Policlinico Universitario A. Gemelli IRCCS - Sacred Heart Catholic University, Rome, Italy

Board Members

Justin P. Cobb, Division of Surgery, Department of Surgery and Cancer, Faculty of Medicine, Imperial College London, UK
Leif Dahlberg, Department of Orthopedics, UMAS University Hospital, Malmö, Sweden
Philippe Hernigou, Department of Orthopedic Surgery, University Paris XII, Henri Mondor Hospital, Creteil, France
Harish S. Hosalkar, Department of Orthopedic Surgery, Rady Children's Hospital, San Diego, CA, USA
Young-Jo Kim, Department of Orthopedic Surgery, Children's Hospital Boston, MA, USA
Xinning Li, Department of Orthopedic Surgery, Boston University School of Medicine - Boston Medical Center, Boston, MA, USA
Gianpaolo Papaccio, Department of Experimental Medicine, Histology Section, Second University of Naples, Italy
Lee Steven Seagal, Department of Orthopedic Surgery, Phoenix Children’s Hospital, AZ, USA
Fritz Thorey, Department of Orthopedic Surgery, ATOS Clinic Heidelberg, Germany
Tom Marco van Raaij, Department of Orthopedics, Erasmus University Medical Center, Rotterdam, the Netherlands
Christoph Zilkens, Department of Orthopedics, University Hospital Medical School, Duesseldorf, Germany